For Immediate Release

Contact: Rob Grant, Communications Director
202.966.7300, Ext. 119

Samantha Phillips, Communications Coordinator
202.966.7300, Ext. 154

Washington, D.C., June 30, 2016 – The Journal of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (JAACAP) is honored to name Douglas K. Novins, MD, as the publication’s newest Editor-in-Chief.

Dr. Novins brings to this role broad and extensive experience in research, clinical practice, training, and working with diverse communities. His vision for JAACAP and commitment to its scholarly value are unparalleled.

“As a clinician, scientist, and academic leader, I can think of no more important role than JAACAP Editor-in-Chief,” said Dr. Novins. “I believe that as a scientific journal JAACAP must welcome a broad range of outstanding articles focused on child development and children’s mental health. Finding and publishing the best science and translating it into the distinct vernaculars of researchers, clinicians, and policymakers are among the greatest challenges for journals of professional medical societies, including JAACAP. I am both excited and humbled by the opportunity to serve as the next JAACAP Editor-in-Chief.”

Dr. Novins’ professional credentials include serving as the Cannon Y. & Lyndia Harvey Chair in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Chair, Pediatric Mental Health Institute, Children’s Hospital Colorado, Professor, Vice Chair, & Director, Division of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, Department of Psychiatry, University of Colorado School of Medicine, and Professor of Community & Behavioral Health, Centers for American Indian & Alaska Native Health, Colorado School of Public Health. Dr. Novins has served as a Deputy Editor of JAACAP since 2011 and previously served as a member of the JAACAP Editorial Board from 2004-2009.

Dr. Novins will begin leadership as JAACAP Editor-in-Chief in January 2018. He will assume this position from Andrés Martin, MD, MPH, who has served as JAACAP Editor-in-Chief since 2008. 

Past Editors of JAACAP include Mina K. Dulcan, MD (1998-2007), John F. McDermott, Jr., MD (1988-1997), Melvin Lewis, MD (1976-1987), Eveoleen N. Rexford, MD (1966-1976), and Irene M. Josselyn, MD (1962-1965).


Representing 9,000+ child and adolescent psychiatrists nationwide, the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) is the leading authority on children's mental health.

AACAP Members actively research, diagnose and treat psychiatric disorders affecting children, adolescents and their families. For more information please visit