For Immediate Release

AACAP Announces Six Recipients of the 2019 Psychodynamic Faculty Training and Mentorship Initiative

Washington, DC, September 24, 2019 – The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) is pleased to announce Shobha A. Chottera, MD, Sheena Joychan, MD, Hal Kronsberg, MD, Cody Roi, DO, MPH, Rangsun Sitthichai, MD, and Paria Zarrinnegar, MD, as the recipients of AACAP’s 2019 Psychodynamic Faculty Training and Mentorship Initiative.

Under guidance of an AACAP mentor, six award recipients identify a problem or area in need of improvement in their child and adolescent psychiatry fellowship program’s teaching of psychodynamic psychotherapy and design a project to address the need during a day-long project planning session at AACAP’s Annual Meeting. Following the meeting, recipients work through the year toward project completion with their assigned mentor, while gaining access to a network of leaders in the specialty.

The program recipients will be recognized during the Karl Menninger, MD, Plenary, and the Training and Education lunch at AACAP's 66th Annual Meeting, held from October 14-19, 2019, in Chicago, Illinois. They will also receive financial assistance in the amount of $350 to attend a day-long project planning session, along with a networking event during the week of the meeting.

AACAP’s Psychodynamic Faculty Training and Mentorship Initiative, funded by a generous donation from the Samuel and Lucille B. Ritvo Charitable Fund, was established in 2018 to support and advance psychodynamic psychotherapy training in child and adolescent psychiatry residency programs through faculty development.

The initiative is administered through AACAP’s Department of Research, Grants & Workforce. For more information on this award, please contact Reilly Polka, Communications Manager.


The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry promotes the healthy development of children, adolescents, and families through advocacy, education, and research. Child and adolescent psychiatrists are the leading physician authority on children’s mental health. For more information, please visit