John E. Schowalter, MD
Resident Member of Council

Applications for the John E. Schowalter, MD, Resident Member of Council are being accepted by the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry for first year child and adolescent psychiatry residents, fourth year triple boarders, and second year post pediatric portal trainees who are current AACAP members. The primary purpose of the John E. Schowalter, MD, Resident Member of Council is to work in partnership with the Jerry M. Wiener, MD, Resident Member of Council to interact with and involve as many general and child and adolescent psychiatry residents and medical students as possible in AACAP.

The John E. Schowalter, MD, Resident Member is responsible for attending a three-day June Council Retreat and two-three October Council meetings during the AACAP Annual Meeting in order to represent the concerns of residents during his/her two-year term on Council (October 2018–October 2020). Travel costs will be funded by AACAP for the June Council meetings. Council Residents are encouraged to apply for travel funding from the Educational Outreach Program for the October Annual Meetings. Priority is given to Council Residents regardless of their program completion date as AACAP classifies trainees with Resident status through the end of the calendar year the child and adolescent program is completed. Residents are expected to ask their Regional Organization or Training Program to match the EOP funding. To learn more about the Educational Outreach Program and to apply online, please visit AACAP’s website.

The first meeting the resident will be required to attend is the 2018 October Council meeting. This meeting will serve as an orientation at which the current John E. Showalter, MD, Resident will prepare the selected resident for his/her term. The resident’s institution should pay for travel expenses.

Additional responsibilities of the John E. Schowalter, MD, Resident Member include serving as a member (first year) and co-chair (second year) of the Medical Students and Residents Committee as well as writing four brief articles and soliciting two articles for AACAP News. As a member of the MSR Committee, the resident will be expected to do the following:

  • Attend the MSR conference calls on a regular basis
  • Attend the MSR Committee meeting at the AACAP Annual Meeting
  • Co-lead the conference calls and share responsibilities with the current MSR co-chair during his/her second year serving as co-chair
  • Participate in and contribute to the Annual Meeting events as well as other committee tasks, such as serving on a selection subcommittee for selecting medical student and general psychiatry resident awards

Lan Chi Krysti Vo, MD, the current John E. Schowalter, MD, Resident, and George “Bud” Vana, IV, MD, the current Jerry M. Wiener, MD Resident, are available to answer questions. They can be reached via email at or

Applications need to include the following:

  1. The candidate's curriculum vitae
  2. A statement of two pages or less from the candidate on why he/she would like to be the John E. Schowalter, MD, Resident Member and ideas for his/her role as resident member of Council.
  3. A letter of recommendation from the resident's Program Director supporting the application.

Please email these items to Megan Levy ( Drs. Vo and Vana will review the applications and select the top three candidates. The President selects the final candidate. The deadline for receipt of all applications is August 1, 2018 and the final selection will be made by August 15, 2018.

Karen Dineen Wagner, MD, PhD